Information about Population, Mobile Operators & Banks of Bangladesh
Population of Bangladesh
Bangladesh is a large and heavily densely populated country with numbers that approaching the 158.5 million mark according to the latest estimates from the United Nations 166,280,712 (July 2014 est)
Mobile phone operators
There are 6 mobile phone operators in Bangladesh. These are:
1.      Airtel Bangladesh Ltd. Branded as Airtel, formerly known as Warid Telecom
2.      Grameenphone/Telenor Bangladesh Ltd.: Branded as Grameenphone
3.      .Orascom Telecom Ltd.: Branded as Banglalink
4.      .Pacific Bangladesh Telephone Ltd.: Branded as Citycell
5.       Axiata Bangladesh Ltd: Branded as Robi
6.       Teletalk Bangladesh Ltd.: Branded as Teletalk
The number of mobile phone subscribers in Bangladesh as of February 2009 was 45.21 million. Rising to 99.87 million at the end of March 2013.

The total number of Mobile Phone subscribers has reached 114.808 million at the end of January 2014. The Mobile Phone subscribers are shown below:
Subscribers (in million)
Grameen Phone Ltd. (GP)
Banglalink Digital Communications Limited
Robi Axiata Limited (Robi)
Airtel Bangladesh Limited (Airtel)
Pacific Bangladesh Telecom Limited (Citycell)
Teletalk Bangladesh Ltd. (Teletalk)

1                  State-owned commercial banks
State-owned are functioning as nationalist. Here is the list -
1.   Sonali Bank
2.   Janata Bank
3.   Agrani Bank
4.   Rupali Bank
2                  Private commercial banks
Private banks are the highest growth sector due to the dismal performances of government banks (above). They tend to offer better service and products. Here is the list -
1.   AB Bank Limited
2.   Bangladesh Commerce Bank Limited
3.   Bank Asia Limited
4.   BRAC Bank Limited
5.   Dhaka Bank Limited
6.   Dutch Bangla Bank Limited
7.   Eastern Bank Limited
8.   Farmers Bank Limited
9.   IFIC Bank Limited
10.                Jamuna Bank Limited
11.                Meghna Bank Limited
12.                Mercantile Bank Limited
13.                Midland Bank Limited
14.                Modhumoti Bank Limited
15.                Mutual Trust Bank Limited
16.                National Bank Limited
17.                NCC Bank Limited
18.                NRB Bank Limited
19.                NRB Commercial Bank Limited
20.                NRB Global Bank Ltd
21.                One Bank Limited
22.                Prime Bank Limited
23.                Pubali Bank Limited
24.                South Bangla Agriculture and Commerce Bank Ltd
25.                Southeast Bank Limited
26.                Standard Bank Limited
27.                The City Bank Limited
28.                The Premier Bank Limited
29.                Trust Bank Limited
30.                United Commercial Bank Ltd
31.                Uttara Bank Limited
There are 8 Islamic Commercial Banks:
1.   Al-Arafah Islami Bank Limited
2.   Export Import Bank of Bangladesh Limited
3.   First Security Islami Bank Limited
4.   ICB Islamic Bank
5.   Islami Bank Bangladesh Limited
6.   Shahjalal islami bank Limited
7.   Social Islami Bank Limited
8.   Union Bank Limited
3                  Foreign commercial banks
10 foreign commercial banks are operating in Bangladesh. These are:
1.   Bank Alfalah
2.   Citibank NA
3.   Commercial Bank of Ceylon
4.   Habib Bank Limited
5.   HSBC ( The Hong Kong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Ltd. )
6.   National Bank of Pakistan
7.   Standard Chartered Bank
8.   State Bank of India
9.   Woori Bank
10.      ICICI Bank
4                  Specialized banks
Specialized Banks (SDBs): 4 specialized banks are now operating which were established for specific objectives like agricultural or industrial development. These banks are also fully or majorly owned by the Government of Bangladesh.
1.   Bangladesh Krishi Bank
2.   Rajshahi Krishi Unnayan Bank
3.   Bangladesh Development Bank Ltd
4.   BASIC Bank Limited
5.   Probashi Kallyan Bank